How to make a backyard pond waterfall weir / spillway for less than $20

21 Jun

http://www.youtube.com/v/gVGAR1k5e18?fs=1

I made one of these after getting quoted more than 0 at a local pond store. You can easily build one of these yourself in about 30 minutes for less than . Note: I’ve used a spillway exactly like this 24/7 for well over 2 years now. No leaks. No problems whatsoever. Have fun! Pond Details: 0 Beckett (Model W1150) 1100 gph pump for waterfall Beckett (Model G535AG20) 535 gph pump for fountain. 0 Home Depot 12’x12’PVC Pond liner Waterfall spill tank (made from office storage box) Free Rocks and Wood (courtesy of Nevada Desert) Perinnials from Home Depot Water plants from Oasis Water Gardens 0 for extra Parts/Hosing/Extras
Video Rating: 4 / 5

25 Responses to “How to make a backyard pond waterfall weir / spillway for less than $20”

  1. buffygrisset82 June 21, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    hu guys i really feel unhappy now anyone wanna chat

  2. SoroPotan June 21, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    Asian wives waiting **busizz4me.info**

  3. dylily June 21, 2009 at 10:06 pm #

    I’m in the process of building a pond/stream in my yard and am working on the waterfall right now. Thank you, this is good information. I know oppinions are like @%^#$ but, if I may… I really like everything… but was thinking the steel retainer nut might rust fairly quick and I’m pretty sure they make PVC retainer nuts. Anyway, just a thought. Thanks again, I wasn’t sure how I was going to do mine and now I do.

  4. callteg4 June 21, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    I am from the uk and I can not find one of the no5 storgage bins anywhere please help

  5. 2fas4ya June 21, 2009 at 10:38 pm #

    AWESOME Video!!!!! I wish I would have seen this b4 I bought mine @ the pond store – but It gives me an idea if I want 2 expand my waterfall. My pond originally started out as one of those plastic prefab jobs 9 years ago. Now it has evolved into something short of my little piece of paradise that is 2x as big, twice as deep (almost 6ft @ the deepest end) with a bridge going over the water and a (now matured) weeping cherry. I LOVE your video I know your pond it awesome now – it takes time šŸ™‚

  6. TimyBoy1990 June 21, 2009 at 11:14 pm #

    nice

  7. halisan1 June 22, 2009 at 12:14 am #

    Hey, um how well does this filter work? I have a turtle and he needs really good filter.

  8. rednyr2003 June 22, 2009 at 1:13 am #

    great video…appreciate your ingenuity! There was no way I was spending the crazy bucks on a weir and now I don’t have to! nice job….

  9. jmoney775 June 22, 2009 at 1:44 am #

    @My1968Impala Yeah, I got rid of the shopping cart recently. Now I simply have the pump laying on the bottom of the pond. I have a piece of swamp cooler pad sitting on the bottom of the weir with a bag of lava rock on top. Filters just fine and looks MUCH better.

  10. jmoney775 June 22, 2009 at 1:50 am #

    @MrGraylynn I’m glad it helped!! šŸ™‚

  11. jmoney775 June 22, 2009 at 2:30 am #

    @stormpoet76 I got rid of the crate recently. Now I simply have the pump laying on the bottom of the pond. I have a piece of swamp cooler pad sitting on the bottom of the weir with a bag of lava rock on top. Filters just fine and looks MUCH better.

  12. jmoney775 June 22, 2009 at 3:18 am #

    @almieda321 Weir on one end, submersible pump on the other.

  13. jmoney775 June 22, 2009 at 3:45 am #

    @bubber25 Your fish will survive the winter months if your pond is 36″ deep or more. I’ve had it completely frozen over with 10″ slab of ice for a couple months and they did just fine. Thanks for watching!

  14. paulasmits June 22, 2009 at 4:01 am #

    Wow nice job ! I made a weir from duct taping a dust pan to a upside down whiskey 1/2 barrel that is my little pond. haaaaaaaaaaaa Of course I am going to create faux rock to cover everything. Makes a real nice sheet of “rain” droplets. I hear ya about the prices on weirs. geeez

  15. bubber25 June 22, 2009 at 4:40 am #

    cool video im thinking about starting an outdoor pond in my backyard. so what do you do in the cold cold winter months? does it kill all your fish? what do you do?

  16. almieda321 June 22, 2009 at 4:49 am #

    this sounds stupid but where do u connect the hose to?

  17. djvdwolf June 22, 2009 at 5:18 am #

    @djvdwolf my pond cost just about with pumps foil and stones included 20 euro.
    because i also got the foil to make 2 pond and a stream the foil it self was 3×3 and my pond would have been bigger but i had to share the foil with a family member
    eventually i needed a 1m2 extra for a entry way with i can finish now so thanks u again
    (now i am answering a post of my own but forgot to add this :P)

  18. djvdwolf June 22, 2009 at 5:30 am #

    i am trying to make a low cost garden for 3000 euro’s and i am on 2500 now with planting i got a big lucky and i found 3 water pumps that can support a waterfall of a meter hight (googled the number on the pump) but this is a really good idea šŸ˜› i will try it and post a vid if it works (already got one but that is the old version)

  19. stormpoet76 June 22, 2009 at 5:50 am #

    seems you have the mechanical portion worked out but aesthetically speaking its not very pleasing. I would put the pump to the right of the waterfall in its own little area hiding it with some sort of water plant. then after the pump house is in place and screened for debris with an easily removed filter trap fish guard you could do whatever you liked to the pond itself, sand and rocks like the one you used on your spillway. Overall I like your idea just need to follow through with aesthetics

  20. MrGraylynn June 22, 2009 at 6:39 am #

    hell yeah man thank you for this video i have been trying to figure this out for months

  21. My1968Impala June 22, 2009 at 7:29 am #

    Nice pond set-up, but the filter in it looks like a shopping cart that fell inside.

  22. Msfunkyonions June 22, 2009 at 7:29 am #

    This is AMAZING!!! How ingenious. Thank you for showing the rest of us how to do this, especially when you are on a budget. Looking forward to trying this and adding to my soon to be bachyard water feature! Thanks again.

  23. babydee007 June 22, 2009 at 8:13 am #

    Thank you knew someone out there other than me was thinking they could buid a waterfall. The prices they charge are crazy. Thanks again.

  24. CoorsFreak June 22, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    Nice!!! An easy do it yourself project. I think I’ll make mine multiple tiers by adding a few more of the storage bins. Thanks for the good info!!

  25. MsMommaRose June 22, 2009 at 9:06 am #

    Just a point the red washer material is also called “plumber’s leather”.

Leave a Reply

