Small Scale Aquaculture

14 Nov

http://www.youtube.com/v/UlY54GgVGzw?fs=1

My First Project

8 Responses to “Small Scale Aquaculture”

  1. Mostlyfun November 14, 2009 at 6:01 am #

    I do not use the pond water in the winter I use compost tea as the pond water is far to cold. Currently I grow 14 different types of greens.
    The local restaurants that buy my greens are very happy, normally they pay $9 to $12 per pound for similar greens that are not as fresh and definitely not organic one restaurant has photos on the wall of my system with a brief explanation of where the salad came from.

  2. Mostlyfun November 14, 2009 at 6:22 am #

    Why not use the water to feed a hydroponic system, then you would have veggies to go with you’re fish.
    I started doing something similar with my koi pond (we don’t eat the fish) 20 years back I now have a greenhouse that I grow all my familys vegtables over the summer we freeze more than enough for the whole winter.
    The best part is that I can grow 50 lbs of greens per day all year which I sell for $5 per pound thats $81000 net per year from salad. Clients? I have a waiting list

  3. aussiebluemax November 14, 2009 at 7:11 am #

    @Olsonite21 whats so funny about that?

  4. Olsonite21 November 14, 2009 at 7:52 am #

    Hahaha, good for hobbyists and… any one facing the worst economic crisis since the Great Depression.

  5. jannonymous November 14, 2009 at 8:46 am #

    isnt this called Aquaponics?

  6. Noz7777 November 14, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    you should privately send the person who posted this video “AshvilleJoe” a message.

  7. oliverprospero November 14, 2009 at 9:38 am #

    Hey who is this guy i need his e-mail i would like to get some more info from him. Maybe you culd come to peru and help me set up a system.

  8. buttlord123 November 14, 2009 at 10:21 am #

    great video and very interesting

Leave a Reply

